Spring Gardening

Spring peas

Spring peas

February was unusually cold for us here in Arkansas. My peas, which I planted the first of February, did not sprout until the first of March.  I had started thinking they might have rotted, but it seems I was lucky, and they are growing nicely now.  I planted all of my peas along the fence line this year, so I will just tie them to the fence as they grow rather than trellising them down the middle of the bed like I did last year.

turnip sprouts

Turnip sprouts

I planted carrots, cabbage, beets, broccoli, cauliflower, turnips and radishes about a week and half ago. So far, only the turnips and radishes have sprouted, but I am hopeful I will see sprouts from the others maybe next week.  Carrots maybe the first week of April. We’ve had an odd spring cold snap, so that may delay things another week or so.

Green onions with seed heads

Green onions with seed heads

I left a few green onions to overwinter for seeds.  They are putting out seed heads now, maybe in another month or two the seeds will be ready to harvest.  I let a yellow onion go to seed last year and collected the seed. I planted some in February and I am seeing sprouts already. I know most people grow onions from sets, but it is really pretty easy to collect your own seed and grow them.  You do need a fairly long growing season for yellow onions, about 6 months, but they can take some frost and cold temperatures, so as long as you have 6 months of unfrozen ground, you can grow onions from seed.

Yellow onion seedlings, planted about 3 weeks ago

Yellow onion seedlings, planted 3 weeks ago

We had quite a good rain last night, but I am hoping it dries out enough by Sunday for me to get my potatoes planted. I have expanded my patch just a bit, and I have some Kennebec white seed potatoes and some Norland Reds. I think I probably have too many seed potatoes for my space, so I may put a few into one of the raised beds to use for new potatoes. I have been waiting for a shipment of plants from a mail order nursery, but I am afraid they are going to be too late for them to get a good start before the hot weather hits us. It may be a bit chilly now, but I know it won’t last for long!

Live and enjoy,

Kelly

 

2 thoughts on “Spring Gardening

  1. Thanks for joining my blog. I am so envious that your plants are in your garden. We are in the middle of a snow storm right now, and my indoor sprouts are not doing as well as they were last year at this time.

Leave a comment